Living the Nerd Dream

I’m pretty classically nerdy: I like sci-fi and fantasy, I always have a book with me, and I play table-top role-playing games.

I could write poems about my love for table-tops RPGS. I got into them while I was in high school because my friends were in games club, and would get together and play. My first RPG system was Pathfinder, and my first character was a rogue. We played once a week when we could, and once every three when things got busy. Over the course of four years, I had tried a bunch of different systems:  Pathfinder, Paranoia, Call of Cthulu and Within The Ring of Fire.

Fast forward to now, and I’m even more involved with RPGS. I’ve added Savage Worlds, and Dungeons and Dragons 5e to my systems list. I even have a favorite system to run a game in (D&D 5e makes me very very happy).  During the school year, I play in two different dungeons and dragons groups. I run one, and play in the other.

This summer, my RPG side is coming out in full. My friend X is running the group I usually run right now, so I can have a break from being in charge. I’ve been playing in the game as a BA pirate queen. Originally we were meeting on Mondays, but due to popular demand, that game is now happening Mondays and Thursdays. So two nights a week, for a total of about 10 hours a week, I’m repping Aila the Green.

Now, that’s not particularly weird. Lots of gamer folks will put in equal of greater amounts of time for such things. But I’ve recently added a third night to my rpg shenanigans. My friend TS has been wanting to run more games, and was particularly interested in a Mage: The Ascension game. Now, mage is an interesting choice. It’s an Old World of Darkness game, so its coming from the makers of Vampire: The Masquerade (AKA the gothest rpg ever). It’s categorized as Gothic Punk, which is totally and completely my aesthetic. So I’ve been pushing TS to run a Mage game. And I finally won!

So now, on Wednesday nights, I’m playing in a Mage game! We’re using our university as a setting, which heightens the realism of the game. It’s a small group, just me and X, with TS running things. The two characters are super interesting in the way they mix. My character is a goth sociology major who overuses magic, and X is playing a southern christian mage who refuses to use magic unless it’s absolutely necessary. The dynamic is fascinating.

But yeah, basically, Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays you can find me rolling dice and collaboratively writing stories. And I’m so freaking happy about it. Role-playing is now almost a part-time job for me!

And now the question: what are you doing with the rest of your week? Well, I’m about to get really busy. This week is the beginning of crazy time in the office, which means I’m going to be working late on Tuesdays and Fridays. Saturdays I try to do anything that comes up, but mostly it ends up being tidying up the house and watching movies with the housemates.

I’m going to have to start thinking about packing soon. I’m going to be moving at the end of August. I’m super pumped to have new roommates, but packing and moving all of my stuff is going to be the opposite of fun.

Oh well, I’m just gonna have to roll with it!

Until Next Time,

 

Leave a Reply

